Day 199

Continuation of Day 198.
I get Rex situated on the couch, watching him sleep for a moment before I get to business. The amount of heat coming our way, this could get messy. I call the cleaner preemptively, probing for insight, hoping someone got cocky and reported my body before the job was done. No dice, but Hale promises to keep an eye out. Best thing a girl can do is make friends in the right places.

Rex stirs on the couch, rubbing his head as he opens his eyes.

“Morning, sunshine.”

“What’d I miss?”

“Nothing. No word from the cleaner.”

“Nobody got cocky?”

I laugh and shake my head. “We’ve been doing this together awhile I guess.”

“Dyl…”

“What?”

“Don’t.”

I stay quiet for a moment. “Rex, what do you want from me?”

“Can we not do this? Not now.”

“Then when? Rex, in this business, it doesn’t get safe. Not now, not ever. Hell, this heap is probably the safest place I’ve stayed in years.”

He sighs, dropping his hand. “I don’t want anything from you, Dyl. I never have.”

“Don’t bullshit me, Rex. This isn’t some fucking game.”

“Dyl, I just want us to be us. To be safe. To stop fucking calling Doc every week because you come back halfway sixed.”

“Rex, that’s not me. This is me. Taking contracts. Sixing for money. Pulling information. You know that. You’ve known that since the start.”

“That was five years ago, Dyl. No one stays in this business that long. I figured we’d be out after a couple years.”

“That’s never been my plan. I’m out when I’m dead.”

“Why does it have to be that way, Dyl? We have enough money to walk away, to live a happy retirement.”

I set my handcomp down, sighing. “That’s never going to be me.”

He looks at me, a look that lasts three lifetimes. 

“I’m sorry, Rex.”

Leave a Reply

