Day 157

Prompt: go to a random playlist and write an entry inspired by the first song you hear.

My song is Air by Hellberg & Teqq & Taylr Renee.

 

Jan plunks down at the table beside me as I’m mid-ogle at Brandon Daniels.

“Earth to Alyssa, anyone home in there?”

“Hmm?” I reply absently, wondering exactly how genes fall into place to create someone as perfect as Brandon Daniels.

“Ugh, just tell him how you feel already. You’ve been pining after him like a lost puppy for like two years now.”

“It’s not that simple, Jan. We’re friends. I don’t want to mess that up.”

“You’re already messing it up by not being honest with him.”

I sigh and poke my fork at the “tuna surprise” on my tray. “That’s not fair. What if I tell him and he doesn’t feel the same way and suddenly we’re not friends anymore?”

“Then you’d move on like a big girl and find yourself a hottie with a body.”

“Okay A) no one says ‘hottie with a body’ anymore, and B) I’d be heartbroken and lose one of my best friends.”

“Yeah, but being your best best friend, I’d step up on double duty.”

“Double best friend duty wouldn’t mend my broken heart.”

“Omg you are so dramatic. It’s high school, Aly. High. School. In ten years you will cringe at this moment.”

“Or I will have waited for the appropriate time to express my feelings to Brandon, discover we’re soulmates, and be living happily in the suburbs.”

She takes a slurp of her diet coke, eyes narrowing at me. “Okay, riddle me this then: if you’re soulmates, why does it matter what time you ask him? If the universe made you for each other, he would say yes regardless of when you asked him out.”

“The universe isn’t that simple. I could mess up our timeline by asking him out too soon.”

“That sounds like a cop-out. How will you know when to ask him?”

“When I’m sure he loves me back.”

She rolls her eyes. “You’re disgusting me right now.”

“Rude.”

“Yeah, rude. Hella rude. If I’m rude enough, will you ask him out?”

I think about it for a second. “Probably not.”

“But there’s a chance?”

“No, I was just trying to be nice.”

She sighs. “I’m sorry, Aly. I see only one course of action. HEY BRANDON!”

I grab her arm. “What are you doing?!” I whisper.

“Helping the universe,” she hisses back as Brandon walks over.

“Hey, Janice. Aly.”

He smiles and my heart melts. I smile back, letting go of Jan’s arm. “Hey, Brandon. How’s your day?”

He shrugs. “It’s a Thursday. You need something, Janice?”

“Yeah, so Aly and I are going to see that new horror movie tomorrow night. Want to come with?”

“Hell yes! I was just talking about seeing that this morning. What time?”

“Does the 8:45 showing work for you?”

“Yeah! Meet you guys there?”

“Sure. We’ll talk more about it tomorrow, yeah?”

“Okay. This is gonna be great!”

“Totally.”

Brandon walks back to his group of friends. I stare wistfully for a moment before punching Jan lightly in the arm.

“What did you do that for?!”

“I’m setting you two up on a date.”

“Dates have two people, dummy.”

“Yeah, which is why I’m faking sick tomorrow.”

“What?”

She shrugs. “I have a chem test.”

I stare at her blankly for a moment, slowly processing. “So I’m going to be seeing a horror movie alone with Brandon Daniels?”

“Afraid so.”

“I hate you.”

“I know.”

“Thank you.”

She throws an arm around me. “What are best best friends for?”

Leave a Reply

