Day 150

D&D update time! Two players were out this week, which let Elzeni and Constance focus on their redemption for killing the innocents in Caedmon’s tower. It was a productive session, so expect the next two or three posts to be part of the recap.

 

After sleeping restlessly, our adventurers awake, ready to head back to Tereod. As they pack up camp, Aymer turns to the group.

“I’m going to stay in the forest for a little while, make sure everything returns to normal and figure out why it’s mad at me.”

At this statement, Gantar looks up. “Yes! I will help you, Aymer. My soul is pure, shining…” He pauses, stroking his chest before continuing. “Handsome.”

Gantar runs to Aymer, grabbing him rather abruptly by the shoulders. “Let me help you, friend!”

“Why are you touching me stop I don’t like you.”

“Fear not, my dearest friend. I, too, tremble at how deep our connection goes. We must not be afraid of our deep, deep bond.”

With that, Gantar drags Aymer off into the forest, leaving Constance and Elzeni to travel back.

They travel for two full days, the forest growing more and more alive as they get closer to Tereod. Their sleep is restless, leaving them tired in the morning, their gods silent to prayers. There is a distance there, a gap created by their actions.

As they are walking on the third day, they see a woman sitting on a rock on the side of the path. She is wearing black robes, the hood down and revealing long black hair. As they approach her, she turns, revealing tanned skin and pure, black eyes.

She smiles, saying, “Hello, Elzeni, Constance. It’s a fine day here, isn’t it?”

“Who are you?” Elzeni asks.

“A friend, I hope. I am here to offer you peace. Your souls are tortured; I can feel it. They’re haunted by the guilt of what you’ve done. I want to release you from the guilt, put your souls at ease.”

“How would you do that?”

“It’s simple, really. I want you to switch sides. Forget Bahamut, forget Torm. They are gods of the past. I represent the future, and I want you both to have a place in it.”

“It is our burden to seek redemption. We look to save our souls.”

“Come now, don’t be so stubborn. You have no place there after what you did. Do you really think they will welcome you back? I’m trying to help you.”

“I’m sorry, friend. We will not turn from our gods so abruptly.”

“You dare reject me? You scorn my help?! I will see you burn for your insolence!”

Gray mist coalesces in front of them and Cyrus steps out. “Easy there, Dragon Queen. You don’t want to upset any of the lords, do you?”

“You! You haven’t been in our realm for thousands of years.”

“Of course not. My work is here, recruiting.” Cyrus gestures to Elzeni and Constance.

She pauses, looking at him. “You lie. Their souls are not his.”

“Perhaps not yet, but in time. You are, of course, welcome to take the issue up with him. My lord is so known for being magnanimous.”

The woman glares at him for a moment, then at each of our adventurers before vanishing with a roar of black smoke. Cyrus turns to Elzeni and Constance.

“Well that could have gone considerably worse. I trust we’re even now?”

“Who was that?”

“That was an avatar of Tiamat, the Queen of Dragons. I don’t know what you did to get on her radar, but it is not good.”

“Who were you two talking about?”

“Ah, yes, well, my soul is owned by a demon lord even Tiamat has reason to fear. I really hope she doesn’t check with him about that whole recruitment thing. I’d rather him not know where I’ve been the last thousands of years.”

The duo mull it over, reading on Cyrus that he truly was just paying them back for setting him free from Caedmon. With the weight of Tiamat on their minds, they turn once again towards Tereod…

 

Part 2 coming tomorrow…

3 thoughts on “Day 150

  1. Pingback: Day 151 – A Year of Writing

  2. Pingback: Day 152 – A Year of Writing

  3. Pingback: Day 153 – A Year of Writing

Leave a Reply

