Day 134

Prompt: On the road/vacations.

 

I swig the last of my beer and lean back looking out over the lake. It’s quiet here, cabins mostly empty, the summer tenants having not yet arrived. I close my eyes and breathe in the crisp air. Paradise. 

Jake joins me on the porch, bringing beer refills and a smile. 

“Enjoying the view?” 

“Mmm. I love it here.”

“Good. I’m glad you decided to come with me.”

“How could I say no to an invitation to Columbia Lake?”

“You can’t. It’s actually considered illegal here in Canada.”

I laugh, cracking open the new beer and holding it out for a cheers. 

“To relaxing summer days,” I say, clinking our glasses. 

“To relaxing with the person you love,” Jake says, leaning in for a kiss. 

I smile, kissing him softly. 

“I don’t want to leave tomorrow,” I tell him, sighing. 

“Me neither. I could stay here forever with you.”

“I could stay anywhere forever with you.”

He smiles and takes my hand. What a lovely night. 

Leave a Reply

