Day 120

Continuing my post from yesterday.

 

After the last bell, “physics club” meets. It’s an unofficial gathering of a few students that need a place to hang out while their rides navigate the heavy traffic around the school. Today, we talk about a new Catholic holiday called “Lint Day” where instead of palms around your neck, you get dryer lint. I don’t know where they come up with this stuff.

A student with an ILP (individual learning plan) returns from taking the quiz in a different testing room. He was shorted 5 minutes and didn’t get to plug in numbers on the last problem. I tell him not to sweat it. I have no idea how else to keep the quiz secure; he can’t come back to it, so I’ll just grade him on the formulas.

I spend the next two hours in my office finishing the lecture notes for AP. I get them printed, nice thick packets the students can cram in their overstuffed binders, and head home.

My roommate isn’t there when I return, the apartment cold and empty. I open the fridge and cringe; slim pickings for dinner. I make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and head into my room, shutting the door. Pajamas on, I finally begin tomorrow’s prep.

I work until about 9:20, intermittently messaging a friend to keep some semblance of sanity. My phone beeps with a notification I set up earlier, reminding me that even though I’m drowning in prep work, even though I spend almost all of my waking life working, I still have more to do. I’m supposed to submit student learning goals for my PLC (professional learning community) tomorrow. Wonderful. Add it to the pile.

The notification pushes me over the edge. I’m tired. I’m stressed. I’m trying my hardest, and it’s not enough. I end up calling a friend and ranting for a bit, blowing off some of the steam. I thank him for his service and hang up, throwing on a robe and running a hot bath. The water fries my nerve endings as I stare blankly at the wall, letting salty tears drip off my chin and cool the water.

“Tomorrow’s another day,” I tell myself. “Just take it one day at a time. You can do anything for one day.”

God I hope so.

 

So this “day in the life of” turned into a bit of a downer… Contrary to what these last two posts suggest, I did enjoy teaching. The classroom is incredibly rewarding, but the prep work (especially if you’re doing AP classes) can be overwhelming. I think I’ll stay in IT..

Leave a Reply

