Day 82

Prompt: Nothing changes or nothing had changed (open-ended).

 

As I turn onto the street holding my childhood home, my heart speeds up. I drive slowly, telling myself it’s in case there are children playing near the road even though I know I’m procrastinating the inevitable. A lot has changed since I was last here; I’m a different person now.

I park in front of the house, not sure if anyone is home, secretly hoping no one is so I can leave and tell myself I tried. The yard seems to stretch on endlessly as I walk to the front door, each step a mile. Why am I so nervous?

Deep down, I know exactly what’s causing my avoidance: fear. It’s an emotion everyone understands. I’m afraid that they’ll be disappointed in me, that they will think I’m as stupid as I do, validating all the self-hatred I’ve been storing away since the engagement fell apart. I’m afraid they’ll think less of me for being naive.

They’re definitely home, glass door a window into the home. I see my mom cross through the kitchen as I raise my hand ring the doorbell. The motion catches her eye, and she turns, her face breaking into a wide smile as she rushes toward the door.

“You’re early!”

“Yeah there wasn’t much traffic,” I reply as I’m swept into a hug.

“Come in, come in,” she says, releasing me and stepping aside.

I step into the warmth of home, my dad walking into the kitchen and smiling. Maybe things haven’t changed after all.

One thought on “Day 82

  1. jsauer25

    A big thumbs up for Day 82, and, IMHO, the only slip in the scene that Day 82 presents is a misunderstanding on the part of the narrator of the meaning of the French word, naivete; i.e., the quality that the character in the scene regrets displaying.

    As someone who has been to Canada three times (admittedly, all three times were to an English-speaking portion but, still, Canada), I consider myself a minor expert in the French language; and while Day 82 implies a negative connotation to the word NAIVETE, I believe its actual meaning is positive, for the root NAIV may mean, “possessing optimism and the ability to believe the best of people”; and while ETE probably means “tendency to take responsibility for the failure of others,” the word is meant to retain its overall positive connotation which I don’t think the character in Day 82 quite realizes. That mis-tranlation is a small issue, however, and does not detract from Day 82’s effective evocation of a mood and a moment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

