Day 74

Prompt: everything changes or everything had changed (bit open ended this week).

 

The buzzing of my phone wakes me, the sound echoing in the quiet room. I groan, rolling over and shielding my eyes as the screen lights up. I answer without looking, eyes squeezed tight.

“Hello?”

“Eva, you have to help me. It’s Lori. She’s gone.”

I shake the sleep from my mind, trying to piece together this information. “Where’s she gone, Tyra?”

“I don’t know that’s why I need your help. Please, you have to find her.”

I sit up in bed, rubbing my eyes and looking at the clock. 3:12AM. “Tyra, she’s done this before. She’s probably out with her friends. She’ll wander back in a couple days, no harm done.”

“Eva, no, this is different. She and Jack were fighting and… I think he’s involved in her leaving.”

My heart skips a beat, eyes opening as my whole body jumps alert. This changes everything.

“I’ll leave in five.”

I hang up, hopping out of bed. I splash cold water on my face, pulling on jeans and a t-shirt. I hesitate for a moment before tucking a blaster into my waistband. This might get messy.

Leave a Reply

