Day 67

Prompt: The sound of silence.

 

To porch is quiet, the click of my keyboard cutting the silence like a knife. I sigh, curling up on the chair and scrolling through the chapter. It’s not my best work, but it will have to do. I send the chapter to my editor and shut the computer, leaning back in the chair.

I look out onto the yard, pulling my heated blanket closer around me. The snow dazzles down onto the pond, resting delicately on the thin layer of ice. I consider calling Brian, inviting him over for an afternoon of coffee and companionship, opting instead to learn from the silence.

It’s an underrated activity, sitting in silence. It encourages introspection, quiet self-analysis to mirror one’s surroundings. I pull the blanket tight and take a sip of cold coffee, enjoying silence.

Leave a Reply

