Day 21

Prompt: Describe an item you were incredibly attached to as a child. What became of it?

 

One year for Christmas, my grandfather on my mother’s side bought all the female grandchildren American Girl dolls. If you’re unfamiliar with the chain, these are dolls with a story. The franchise has expanded since, but originally there were several dolls from different backgrounds that lived in America during different points of history. The outfits and novels accompanying each doll reflected the time period they were set in. My doll was Felicity.

Felicity had fiery red hair to match her fiery personality. She lived during the Revolutionary War. I wanted her because she rode a horse, unlike any of the other dolls. She was a rebel, just like I wanted to be.

The thing about getting an American Girl doll is that the purchases don’t stop there. Each doll has a veritable catalog of accessories. There are different outfits, pets, grooming tools, even a hospital you can send your doll to if something gets broken. So even though I had Felicity, she was always being upgraded at Christmas time.

The first year after I got her, my parents bought me her horse, Penny. Standing about 22″ tall, Penny was one of the greatest gifts I could have imagined. I would put Felicity in her riding outfit and gallop her around the room, warning towns that the British were coming, saving wounded soldiers by bringing them to the nearest hospital, even delivering orders to the front lines. Felicity and Penny were a sight to be cheered.

I remember spending late nights with my sister, her tucked in on my trundle bed, our dolls talking to each other, enacting out the latest in a string of adventures in hushed voices I’m sure Mom and Dad could hear. We’d play and play, creating fantastic worlds on that bed until the birds started chirping outside my window. Those were some of the best nights of my life.

Today, Felicity is carefully packed away in storage. She shares a bin with Penny and her (extensive) wardrobe. Next to her is Molly, the second American Girl doll I got. Someday, I’ll have my own house to display them in. I’ll put them on the dresser where they’ll wait for the day two young girls have stories to tell.

One thought on “Day 21

  1. jsauer25

    Your grandfather would be soooooooo happy, and gratified, to read this–to know that he began something that meant this much to you. He probably wouldn’t actually say he was happy, or gratified, but he’d smile, and in that craggy-with-character face of his, it would be as if one of the presidents on mount rushmore were to suddenly, for a sly moment, grin.

    Like

Leave a Reply

