Day 11

New prompt for the week! This one is focused more on essay than fiction, but I will try to do a couple fiction pieces too.

Prompt: Write a six-word story about what you think the future holds for you, and then expand on it.

 

Wanted: small house in nice neighborhood.

Is there any task more dreaded than moving? Every time I move, I tell myself that next time I’m hiring movers, I’m never moving again, beds (and couches!) are totally overrated and unnecessary, and that moving is literally the worst. I’m in that gray zone of young adult, out of college and early in a career, where apartment living is standard. The upside of living in an apartment is that I never have to worry about maintenance or yard work. The downside is that I’m renting the space and live one flimsy wall away from my neighbors (who love Coors Light more than I love breathing).

For me, the future will hold a house. I’ll start small, two bedrooms with a basement I can turn into an office. The bedroom will be lilac with a plum accent wall, a nice dark background to highlight the antique metal frame on my queen bed. Two black nightstands, a big black bookshelf, and a dark gray chair will complete the room. There will be a walk-in closet that I can hide a dresser in. The other bedroom will be light blue with a navy accent wall (I really like accent walls). In there, I’ll have a spare bed for when friends and family visit from out of town. The living room and dining room will be a pale gray and feature a small table and my current dark gray living room set. The basement would then have a large desk with 2-3 displays set up for gaming and working, possibly with a mini fridge nearby for those weekend gaming sessions.

But this is all conjecture. First I need to figure out my timetable for buying a house, set up a house account, and start learning how to fix general house issues. I’m still pensive about living alone in a house. The benefit of apartment living is that you’re surrounded by people. House neighbors feel much farther away than apartment neighbors. The solution to this would be to get a roommate, but I have grown to love the independence of living alone so much that I don’t know if I can go back.

Who knows what the future will hold?

Leave a Reply

