Day 4

New week, new prompt!

Prompt: Use the following sentence as the start of your entry: I heard the car door slam and immediately looked at the clock.

 

I heard the car door slam and immediately looked at the clock. Shit. She wasn’t supposed to be home for another half hour. I look at Jake. 

“Can you distract her?” I whisper.

“With what?” he replies, eyes wide with panic.

“I don’t know. Take her for birthday coffee?”

He nods slowly, grabbing his keys and wallet before sprinting out the door. I pull out my phone as he intercepts her.

“Hello, birthday girl! How was your day?” I hear him ask.

I can’t make our her reply. That’s a good sign. Two car doors shut. Phew. I text the group, telling them to get moving, then busy myself with decorating the table. The banner is hanging limply from the ceiling where Jake left off. I consider getting a ladder to finish the job before deciding to wait until Michael arrives.

Five minutes later, I hear a knock at the back door. Finn, Michael, and Kayla smile and wave at me through the curtains. I let them in, taking their gifts and hiding them under the table while they hide their shoes and coats. Finn smiles and opens his arms for a hug.

“Hey, baby, how was your day?” he says, kissing me gently.

“Busy, busy,” I reply. “How about you?”

“Better now,” he says, stealing another kiss. “What do you need me to do?”

“Candles in the cake. Michael, can you finish hanging the banner? Kayla, help me set up the bar?”

We busy ourselves, working quickly, eyes glancing to the clock every few minutes. It’s 5:35 when Jake texts me: Bringing her back. All good? I send him the all clear and have everyone get in their places. We hide in the kitchen, ready to pop around the corner. The minutes stretch like hours as we wait.

We heard the car doors slam. Happy Birthday, Jessica!

Leave a Reply

