Day 1

This will be a shorter prompt just for this weekend. We’ll start with a new one on Monday.

Prompt: Take the first sentence from a favorite book and make it the first sentence of your post.

For this prompt, I’ve chosen The Call of Cthulhu by H. P. Lovecraft (not technically a book, but an excellent story).

 

The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. Have you ever had a revelation, connected the dots between seemingly unrelated events, and experienced the horror that is knowing too much? That’s the tricky thing about knowledge. You want enough to make sense of the world around you and live your life outside of confusion, but once you step over that line, have that revelation, you can never go back to the comfort of ignorance.

It was February when I realized my brother’s death wasn’t an accident.

February 16th, to be exact. I was making my annual pilgrimage to the intersection where Seth died. He had been walking back to his apartment from the pub when a car ran the stop sign. The flowers were cold in my hand as I walked down the same street he had that night. Daisies had always been his favorite.

I sat on the bench across from where he died, daisies next to me, cigarette spilling ash onto the damp pavement. Ten minutes til the anniversary. A woman sits down next to me, her face buried in her phone. I slide a little farther away from her on the bench. Being comfortable around people was never my strong suit.

Five minutes went by, the street slowly emptying as people tucked inside homes to escape the chill of February in northern Illinois. A car idled at the stop sign. Normally, I wouldn’t have noticed something so trivial. I would have assumed the driver was texting. Except that I recognized the car. I recognized the custom hood ornament. I recognized the jagged scratch on the left side of the fender. I recognized the oversized wheels that had looked so out of place the first time the car parked in our driveway and out stepped Seth.

Who was driving the car?

Leave a Reply

